Rain doesn’t deter stellar turn out for second Marine Surfski Series clash

Epic Kayaks' Matt Bouman charges to victory in the Borland Surfski Challenge, race two of the 2016 Varsity College FNB Marine Surfski Series. Anthony Grote/ Gameplan Media

Epic Kayaks’ Matt Bouman charges to victory in the Borland Surfski Challenge, race two of the 2016 Varsity College FNB Marine Surfski Series. Anthony Grote/ Gameplan Media

Durban – Despite the rain, Friday evening’s Borland Surfski Challenge presented by Marriott, race two of the 2016 Varsity College FNB Marine Surfski Series, saw Durban serve up another memorable set of ocean conditions for the over 250 enthusiasts who took up the challenge with Matt Bouman claiming his second consecutive race win while Nikki Russell won the women’s race.

Epic Kayak’s Bouman enjoyed a tough tussle with Herbalife’s Wade Krieger and Gene Prato in the series opener in week one and once again charged home ahead of the pair second time around, this time with Prato getting the better of Krieger after the latter got himself stuck on the shark nets.

“I’ve been training really hard and was feeling even better this week so I went out a bit harder than last week this time around and managed to get away from the guys a bit earlier,” said Bouman.

“It was another good race though! We’re really lucky here in Durban; there is just so much talent in this little town of ours!

“Wade (Krieger) is going really well, Hank (McGregor) will be back soon I’m sure and then it’s been really great to see Grant (van der Walt) back on the water and hopefully once his board exams are done then he too can come play nicely with us again because his talent really is freakish!

“The series is also such a good way to build towards the international season!” he added.

The relatively small surf and flat ocean, together with a ten knot wind, made for gentle conditions that were once again enjoyed by many of Durban’s ever-growing surfski community.

The depth in Durban’s surfski talent continued into the women’s clash with a first race win in her debut showing at this year’s Marine Surfski Series for Fenn Kayaks’ Russell was hotly followed by a bumper contest for second, third and fourth position.

A strong effort from Hayley Nixon (neé Arthur) saw her ultimately edge out a charging Donna Tutton while an FNB Dusi-focused Jenna Ward (Fenn Kayaks) claimed fourth and junior competitor Christie MacKenzie fifth.

Zoog Haynes and Linton Hope again put in a strong challenge in the doubles race, leading home mixed doubles winners Jason Ekstrand and Kerry Segal as well as Shaun Burgin and Lee Muir.

The 4km short course encounter saw junior Keaton Riddle surge home ahead of Mkwaba Banda and Lucky Mabuya while the doubles title went to Calvin and Tamryn McKie.

The Hansa Surfski Challenge, race three of the 2016 Varsity College FNB Marine Surfski Series, takes place at 17h30 on Friday. 22 January Marine SLC, Addington Beach. More information can be found at www.marineseries.co.za


1.Matt Bouman 33.03
2.Gene Prato 34.17
3.Wade Krieger 34.54
4.Luke Nisbet 35.03
5.Bailey de Fondaumiere (U18) 35.18
6.Thomas Lovemore 35.32
7.Grant van der Walt 35.40
8.Irvin Dixon 36.16
9.Luke Criticos (U18) 35.42
10.Nic Burden 37.02

1.Nikki Russell 38.38
2.Hayley Arthur 39.23
3.Donna Tutton 39.46
4.Jenna Ward 39.48
5.Christie MacKenzie (U18) 41.05

Junior Boys
1.Bailey de Fondaumiere 35.18
2.Luke Criticos 35.42
3.Brett Evans 37.21

Junior Girls
1. Christie MacKenzie 41.05
2.Sabina Lawrie 42.50

1.Zoog Haynes/Linton Hope 34.45
2.Jason Ekstrand/Kerry Segal (Mixed) 34.58
3.Shaun Burgin/Lee Muir 35.07

Mixed Doubles
1.Jason Ekstrand/Kerry Segal 34.58
2.Shaun Dias/Anke Malan 38.02
3.Jason Ward/Vanda Kiszli (HUN) 38.38

Women’s Doubles
1.Kelly Biljoen/Wilma Deysel 45.25
2.Maya Opperman/Nicolette Crozier 46.25
3.Stacey Bowley/Angela Ferreira 52.57

1.Keaton Riddle 21.39
2.Mkwaba Banda 21.46
3.Lucky Mabuya 22.09

1.Calvin McKie/Tamryn McKie 20.48
2.Bruce Pender-Smith/Matthew Pender-Smith 22.13
3.Patrick Palmer/Brandon Palmer 23.05

1.Daryl Bartho 27.09
2.Brandon Read 28.17
3.Stephen Lawson 28.51

1.Jackie de Billot 31.27
2.Danica Bartho 32.16
3.Lande Williamson 34.22