Tough day in the saddle at FNB W2W MTB Adventure

FNB W2W MTB Adventure Stage 1 photo credit Volume Photography.jpg

FNB W2W MTB Adventure Stage 1 photo credit Volume Photography.jpg

The much anticipated FNB Wines2Whales (W2W) Mountain Bike (MTB) Adventure kicked off at Lourensford Wine Estate (Somerset West) today, Friday, 31 October 2014.

Teams of two (men, women and mixed) had to complete a challenging 72km route that included trekking over the historic Gantouw Pass, the only piece of trail to feature a compulsory portage, before crossing the finish line at Oak Valley Wine Estate (Elgin-Grabouw).

Charel Uys and Rikus Visser of Team Uystervis claimed victory in the men’s category crossing the finish line in an impressive time of 04 hours 01 minute 09 seconds.  “Today was tough,” said Uys.  “We rode really hard on the climbs.   Rikus was much stronger than me.  The stage was very nice and we really enjoyed the single track, especially towards the end.  Our plan for Stage Two is just to take it as it comes”.  Anton Koller and Gregor Krall of Team Rehidrat Sport came in second, while Joel Stransky and Jeremy Thomson of Team Rugby Celeb Team 2 finished third.

Theresa Ralph and Michael Petersen of Team RBS set the stage on fire in the mixed category claiming gold in a well-deserved time of 04 hours 27 minutes 39 seconds.  Ralph, who will be taking part competitively in the FNB W2W MTB Race the weekend of 07 – 09 November 2014, is using the FNB W2W MTB Adventure as a route recce.  “This is my first FNB W2W MTB Event,” says Ralph.  “It’s nice to be able to check out the trails and look at the view for a change.  I won’t get to do much of that at the Race.  The route was stunning, featuring amazing views and wow single track.  It’s a world class Cape Town event,” says Ralph.  Neill Ungerer and Thea-Mari Van Der Sandt of Team Scott 2 Lovit came in second, while Jason and Emma Pienaar of Team PharmaChoice Mixed finished third.

Although suffering a serious mechanical 40km into the stage, Lolita Van Aardt and Nadia Visser of Team Tailormade Properties managed to maintain their lead claiming gold in the women’s category in 04 hours 45 minutes 03 seconds.  “My free wheel body broke approximately 40km into the stage,” says Van Aardt.  “We tried fixing it with cable ties.  Nadia had to help me up the hills with me literally having to hold onto her.  We’re looking forward to tomorrow”.

Although The Cape Doctor proved to be a factor during Stage One, both Van Aardt and Visser agreed that they’d take the wind over rain any day.  Kathy Crabbe and Wendy Potgieter of Team Specialized Songo claimed the second spot on the podium in the women’s category, while Desiree Strydom and Arlien Mattheus of Team Ongegund finished third.


Start:                  Oak Valley Wine Estate (Elgin-Grabouw)

Finish:               Oak Valley Wine Estate (Elgin-Grabouw)

Start Time:      07:00

Distance:          67km

Like our Facebook page:  Wines2Whales

Follow us on Twitter:  @w2wmtb

All 2014 FNB W2W MTB riders (Adventure, Ride and Race) stand the chance to win a magnificent Specialized mountain bike in the #MySpecializedDraw.  Valued at a whopping R50 000.00 per event, the#MySpecializedDraw includes a Body Geometry Fit Session.

About FNB Wines2Whales:

FNB Business and FNB Private Clients have made a joint commitment to sponsor the annual Wines2Whales Mountain Bike Events.

FNB’s ongoing strategy is to support local and community events that show the potential to grow. This sponsorship affirms our dedication to providing an experience that is beyond expectation, through a sport that continues to grow in popularity as one of the key activities in the South African sporting calendar.

The annual FNB Wines2Whales Mountain Bike Events are aligned to our belief that adventure is the heart of innovation and this is one of many platforms on which we seek to make a lasting connection with new and existing clients.


FNB Business- If your business is going far, we can help you get there.


FNB Private Clients – We help you grow, manage, protect and enjoy your wealth.


For more information on the FNB Wines2Whales MTB events contact 083 760 3158, e-mail or or


FNB Wines2Whales MTB Adventure
Stage One / Friday, 31 October 2014
P_Group Time Day1 Team# TeamName Rider1 Rider2 Group
1 04:01:09 7AB Uystervis Rikus Visser Charel Uys Men
2 04:01:47 480AB Rehidrat Sport Anton Koller Gregor Krall Men
3 04:02:12 423AB Rugby Celeb Team 2 Joel Stransky Jeremy Thomson Men
4 04:03:05 8AB C&A Patch Jan Tukker David Stonestreet Men
5 04:04:18 482AB Oakhaven-Granite Michael Creedon Andrew Davies Men
6 04:10:30 1AB CRAFT Racing Charles Mcfall Robert Cragg Men
7 04:15:21 273AB BMC Boys Clive White Mathew Wentworth Men
8 04:16:48 495AB M Squared Martin Coetzee Billy Stelling Men
9 04:18:06 32AB The Hill Billy’s Craig Boswell Martin Lambrecht Men
10 04:19:26 13AB Enartis Charl Du Plessis Jaco Cockrell Men
11 04:21:26 6AB Sircus Thys Blom Wynand Van Der Berg Men
12 04:22:28 39AB Squirt Masters Jacques Theron James Stopforth Men
13 04:22:46 532AB Willie and Shaun Shaun Roos Willie Du Plooy Men
14 04:25:13 508AB The Pistons of Fury Nicholas Cloete John Parent Men
15 04:25:14 484AB Go Darling Go Robert Mcgloughlin Craig Woods Men
16 04:26:04 481AB PPA Masters Riaan Meintjes Robert Vogel Men
17 04:26:28 505AB The Matthees Heine Matthee Jurie Matthee Men
18 04:27:29 536AB Vision Trust Flandria Alwyn De Kock Steven Dimond Men
19 04:28:53 52AB Pegasus Mark Boddy Thomas Figl Men
P_Group Time Day1 Team# TeamName Rider1 Rider2 Group
1 04:45:03 25AB Tailormade Properties Lolita Van Aardt Nadia Visser Women
2 05:02:57 215AB Specialized Songo Kathy Crabbe Wendy Potgieter Women
3 05:05:38 421AB Ongegund Desiree Strydom Arlien Mattheus Women
4 05:15:20 570AB Smart Tarts Kim De Villiers Suzi Van Der Merwe Women
5 05:18:22 133AB flower power Shaneen Wallace Michelle De Souza Macgregor Women
P_Group Time Day1 Team# TeamName Rider1 Rider2 Group
1 04:27:39 499AB Team RBS Michael Petersen Theresa Ralph Mixed
2 04:31:40 68AB Scott 2 Lovit – Mix Neill Ungerer Thea-mari Van Der Sandt Mixed
3 04:33:44 432AB PharmaChoice Mixed Jason Pienaar Emma Pienaar Mixed
4 04:36:39 42AB Keep M S’Myelin Nicki Sutherland Clive Gaven Mixed
5 04:38:33 498AB OperationSmileSA Coenie Thomas Leorine De Wet Mixed
6 04:45:39 29AB Youngman Caren Mills Dave Mills Mixed
7 04:52:06 105AB The Lucky Ones Caren Henschel Tony Wright Mixed
8 04:54:09 87AB Team LWS Warren Van Eyssen Cheri Rickett Mixed
9 04:56:08 485AB Team Hindmarch Scott Hindmarch Shelley Hindmarch Mixed
10 05:01:55 668AB Team name? Brad Rothenburg Louise Blatcher Mixed
11 05:03:02 40AB TRI TWO Brett Poppesqou Wendy Poppesqou Mixed
12 05:05:36 405AB Prockies Cathryn Proctor Brendan Proctor Mixed
13 05:07:19 514AB Dung Beetle meets Racing Snake Stephen Reynolds Ann Harrison Mixed
14 05:08:32 92AB Daisyway Mix Louise Jansen Van Rensburg James Jacobs Mixed
15 05:09:18 112AB Team Rehidrate Tyrone Scamaton Diane Obree Mixed
16 05:09:49 75AB ISUZU IMPIS Jenna Borrill Aaron Borrill Mixed
17 05:13:44 533AB rocky cruz Michele Long Jean Louis Fourie Mixed
18 05:24:06 149AB Team DHL KZN Colin Goosen Ingrid Goosen Mixed
19 05:25:39 165AB Weskus Aretha Eksteen Giliam Smit Mixed