Provinces battle it out for Spur schools mtb interprovincial title


The 2016 Spur Schools Mountain Bike League wrapped up a highly successful season with a nail biting Interprovincial Championship, which saw the top riders in each of the competing regions join forces for the best possible go at the coveted trophy.

The Interprovincial Competition is done under the auspices of South African Schools Cycling (SASC), which in turn is affiliated to Cycling SA as a development initiative particularly geared to create a platform for schools to compete against each other and, in doing so, raise the profile of the sport at school level.

With only the 10 best results scoring points, it was game on from the start of each race.  Defending champion North West Province, in spite of its size, successfully defended their title as provincial champion logging 242 points.  Gauteng finished in a close second with 240 points followed by Western Province in third place with 224 points.


Filling the rest of the spots on the log were Mpumalanga (190 points), Kwazulu Natal (182 points), Free State (160 points), Limpopo (140 points), Namibia (88 points), Eastern Cape (62 points), Northern Cape (44 points) and Zimbabwe (38 points).

Travis Stedman of Thomas More College got KZN off to a great start taking line honours in the sub-junior race, with WG van der Walt of Montana High School (Western Cape) second and Miguel Moutihno of Midstream College (Gauteng) in third in spite of a very bad crash the day before.

Beani Thies of Wartburg Kirchdorf School logged another win for KZN in the sub-junior girls, with team mates Kaylin Gombos and Natalie Long both of Transvalia (Gauteng) taking second and third place.

Adriaan Duminy of Wesvalia rode a stellar race to win the youth boys 15 years for North West, with Hennie van Wyk of Garsfontein (Gauteng) second and Jamie Penfold of Paul Roos (WC) in third.

Zandri Strydom of Rob Ferreira logged a convincing win for Mpumalanga finishing a minute ahead of Kelsey van Schoor of St Dominics Priory (EC) second and Andrea de Waal of Potchefstroom Girls High (NW) in third in the youth girls 15 years.


In the youth boys 16 years race, Ryan Conradie of Potchefstroom Gimnasium secured another win for North West with JP Lloyd of Zwartkop (Gauteng) second and Brendan van Eeden of Potchefstroom Gimnasium (NW) in third filling the podium spots.

Tiffany Keep of Thomas More College won the youth girls 16 for KZN with Thana Groenewald of Midstream College securing a second and Rimare Sutton of Garsfontein securing a second and third place for Gauteng.

The junior girls’ race increased the North West score with Kristen Louw of Volkskool Potchefstroom in first and Daniel Strydom of Potchefstroom Gimnasium in second, while  Christie Hearder of Pietermaritzburg Girls High (KZN) took third.

In the final race of the day, Pieter du Toit of Volkskool won the junior men’s race for North West with Rinus Maarsingh of Grey College taking the only podium win for Free State and Armandt Lombard of Nelspruit High School (MPU) in third.